FINDING FEMALE IN MIDDLE GRADE FANTASY

This is partially why I write girl protagonists in MG. When I was little if it were’t for authors like Tamora Pierce, and thank goodness for Tamora Pierce, I wouldn’t have had any girl protags. Sure, I love Artemis Fowl, (love, love, love) and HP, and Percy Jackson, but it’s rare the girl is the main character. And I refuse to believe I’m the only one who wanted more of that. Actually I know I’m not and the lack of girl MC’s is likely one of the driving reasons why my friends and I moved to YA , and even Adult with authors like Marion Zimmer Bradley, Fantasy so fast.
-Patrice

Ellie Rollins

Today on the blog I’ve got something a little different–and special! Laurisa White Reyes, author of THE ROCK OF IVANORE,  has stopped by talk about females in Middle Grade fantasy. She even provides us with a list of her favorite girl-centric fantasy books for kids–love it! Here’s a little more about Laurisa’s upcoming fantasy debut: 

The annual Great Quest is about to be announced in Quendel, a task that will determine the future of Marcus and the other boys from the village who are coming of age. The wizard Zyll commands them to find the Rock of Ivanore, but he doesn’t tell them what the Rock is exactly or where it can be found. Marcus must reach deep within himself to develop new powers of magic and find the strength to survive the wild lands and fierce enemies he encounters as he searches for the illusive Rock. If he…

View original post 1,055 more words

Share Your Thoughts :)

