BLOOD BOUND Blog Tour: Interview with Author Keshia Swaim

Hello!  Today I’m excited to bring you my interview with author Keshia Swaim for the first stop on the BLOOD BOUND Blog Tour (Spencer Hill Press, October 8, 2013).

Meet Keshia!  Hello, My name is Keshia Swaim, and I am a book addict. I love reading, writing, and talking about anything related to books. 🙂 Blood Bound, my debut novel, follows Brielle Reed as she tries to start college, learn more about her mysterious father, and avoid being pulled into a war between the fae courts.

Hi Keshia, what is your favorite place to write? Anywhere with a door. 🙂 I’m a work-from-home mother, so privacy is a rare and precious gift. But I wouldn’t trade it for anything!  I have younger four younger siblings & now I’m at college so I definitely get that.

What is the first story you remember writing? The first one I remember was in elementary school. I don’t remember the title, but it was about a tornado (I’m from Oklahoma) that actually repaired instead of destroyed the landscape.

When did you first consider yourself a writer? I still don’t, really. I think of myself more as someone who got incredibly lucky. But when I received my ARC of Blood Bound with my name on the cover I started thinking maybe one day I can be a “real” writer.

What is the best piece of constructive criticism you ever received? In college, a professor told be that I was “concise to a fault,” meaning that I didn’t spend enough time explaining the details in my writing. It annoyed me when he said it, but he was right, and it’s still something I struggle with.

How do you overcome “writer’s block” ? I write (great advice!). If a certain scene is bothering me, I’ll skip it entirely and move on. Sometimes I end up deleting entire chapters later, but it’s better than the alternative. If I get stuck and stop, it may take me days to get back to my story line.

Are you a full time writer? Nope. I’m a full-time mommy and a nap-time writer. Eventually I’d like to write more, but right now I’m having too much fun with my babies.  Awww!

What was the publishing process like for you?– I got in with a great company, Spencer Hill Press, and they were really good at walking me through the process, but it’s still been right down nerve-wracking at times. But at the same time, watching my manuscript turn into a real novel has been one of the coolest things in my life.

What is some advice you would impart to writers who wish to be published? Do. Not. Quit. Publishing is hard, slow, and has quite a bit to do with luck, in my opinion. Everyone faces rejection (lots of it) but the only way to get past that is to keep going.

…okay, now for the real fun stuff 😉

Coffee or tea? Both.

Favorite animal? White tigers

Fun Fact about yourself most people don’t know? My original career plan was to be an archaeologist. I wanted to work in the Middle East. Then I started paying attention to current events and decided that was a bad idea.

If you could have breakfast with anyone dead or alive, who would it be and what would you eat? Tolkien. I’d love to get inside his head. The man was a genius. And I’d let him pick the breakfast. Whatever would keep him at the table longest. 🙂

If you could be any character from a book, movie, play, or musical who would it be and why? Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice. As to why (Other than happily ever after with Mr. Darcy) I Ioved how intelligent and independent she was, in a time where women weren’t supposed to think for themselves. *snaps* to that!

What is your favorite movie(s)? Pride and Prejudice, and Disney’s Aladdin. Random, I know.

If you had/have an animal spirit which animal(s) would it be? A tiger, I guess. They are majestic, beautiful, and extremely dangerous if you make them mad. 🙂

What is your favorite childhood book and/or author? I’ve always been an obsessive reader, so it’s tough to pick one. But I did go through a huge R.L. Stine phase. I think I read every Goosebumps and Fear Street book ever written

What is the next book you want to write? I’d love to continue Brielle’s story for a while, but I’m also working on some historical fantasy.

Imagine you are writing your memoir…what is its title? Gah! Titles are the bane of my existence. Hey! maybe that would be the title. 🙂

Last words??? That sounds like I’m about to die, which I hope isn’t true.  Haha, oh no, I’ve never actually thought of it that way…oops!  I hope you enjoy Blood Bound!  And don’t forget to download “Family Ties” the story that inspired my book. And, if you have time, visit me on Facebook, Twitter, or my blog, The Book Addict.

Thanks for having me! –Thank you for letting me interview you, Keshia!  It was a great one 🙂  I loved reading Brielle’s story and can’t wait to read the continuations as well as that historical fantasy!!

Don’t forget to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win a signed copy of BLOOD BOUND & a swag pack!

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

6 thoughts on “BLOOD BOUND Blog Tour: Interview with Author Keshia Swaim

Share Your Thoughts :)

