What’s Up Wednesday!

Good (super early) Morning!  Welcome to What’s Up Wednesday!  Since I missed last week’s post I’m going to be going over things, in a concise way, from the past two weeks.

What I’m Reading

Prep School ConfidentialPrep School Confidential by Kara Taylor.  It comes out July 30, 2013 from St. Martin’s Griffin.  I’ve had this book on my Kindle forever yet I was busy and though it sounded interesting, I didn’t have anything drawing me to it.  Then I started hearing a lot of good things about it.  And then I read this post by the wonderful Dahlia Adler on YA Misfits and was immediately sold.  I was obsessed with Kate Brian’s Private & Privilege Series so when she gave the okay, that it was in their league well… pure reading bliss ensued.

Now, I’m not that far into it, actually just barely but I’m sooo hooked.  If a book can capture me this much within its first few pages it has to do some serious damage to make me drop it (fingers crossed).

What I’m Writing

I’m continuing BOOK ONE of the ALEX DE VEGA CHRONICLES.  I think I might title it Alex de Vega and Pandora’s Box (not sure yet).

Here’s the working blurb: 

In the year 3147, in the city-state of Atlantis II, humans, vampires, werewolves, faeries and other supernatural creatures live in perfect harmony under the wise leadership of The Council until Pandora’s Box, a highly advanced piece of technology is stolen.  In order to find it The Council turns to Public Enemy #1, criminal mastermind, Alex de Vega of the de Vega crime family and her ragtag group of companions to infiltrate some of the city’s darkest places to find and bring back the box in one piece.

I’m not going to jinx this project so I’ll just say I’m taking ti day by day, scene by scene, word by word.  I’ve set my Scrivener daily goal to 1,500 words.  So far (except for one lapse) I’ve been meeting that goal.  You know you’re in love when you can’t wait to finish a WIP so you can begin editing and revising it to make it better.  Also she’s such a fun character, you can read an interesting scene I did for a blog chain here.

What Else I’ve Been Doing

Watching a  ton of Vampire Diaries.  I mean a TON.  I recently started.  I tried watching it when it first came out, hated it, Elena got on my nerves (I thought she was a horrible friend/sister sometimes) and Stefan was whiny…Damon was the only one I thought was at least true.  Well, not much has changed except I have a major crush on Damon and Stefan yet like Damon as a whole better (for the previously listen reason plus he’s hilarious).   I don’t think I’ve had a crush like this, especially on a character, since I was in middle school (sad, I know right?).

I did bake sweet potato fries from scratch, I feel major accomplished and adulty…not that those alone will actually sustain me but they also made me feel like I was being healthy so hey, whatever works!

Oh, and work…what’s new in that regard (utterly nothing).  Planning my college’s New Student Orientation is like YAY (because I love first-years and event planning)! and ARGH (because there are so many little/tedious details)!  all in the same breath.  Next summer I’m sticking with summer classes.  But my internship with Spencer Hill Contemporary is going amazingly well so that’s a plus 🙂

What Inspires Me Right Now

The fact that I need to get major ish done before classes start on September 3rd.  Actually before August 19th which is when Student Leader Training starts, the week after being Orientation.  Like MAJOR.  Revising & Editing I can do during the school year, writing a whole book, not as easy (but I’m going to keep pushing myself so we’ll see).  I have taken up the slogan Just Do It, like no more excuses for this gal (the picture to the right is currently my screensaver).Typografie-Nike-Just-Do-It

Also… Can I graduate yet?  That’s really all I want to know.  College was fun, now it’s boring…yes I love my friends but I have other things I’d like to be doing (I know, I’m being a sourpuss).

Ooo but WriteOnCon is fast approaching and though I probably won’t be submitting a MS on the forums for Ninja Agents to peek at, I’m super excited about the posts, chats and of course meeting other writers!

What’s going on with you?  What are you inspired by?

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

26 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday!

  1. I ❤ sweet potato fries. 🙂
    And ditto on The Vampire Diaries. I'm not a faithful follower, but every once in a while I need to watch something involving Damon.
    Good luck with your goals this week! I wish I could manage 1,500 words a day–that's awesome!

  2. Are you graduating this year? I totally felt the same way about just wanting out, but now that I’ve been out, I kind of miss it! Haha, such is life. 🙂 My senior year was so fun though, so seriously, enjoy it!

    Your book sounds great. It is very intriguing! Good luck with you writing goals this week and fitting it in around all your upcoming scheduling!

    • Ah no, haha I’m a junior. I might be graduating early though or I might choose to stay and add a major. But thanks, I love my college it’s just every once in a while I’m ready to go.

      Thank you! And good luck with your writing goals as well 🙂

  3. Your book sounds really good. I like the titles that you came up with too. Congrats on meeting your writing goals. Have a great weekend!

  4. You already have the makings of a query for your unfinished novel, Patrice! Cool. 🙂 And you’re right–WriteOnCon’s coming up soon. Eeek! I was really hoping to be done with my WIP so I could post in the query and page critique boards. I’d hate to rush it, but I didn’t have anything for last year’s either… :\

    Have a great writing week!

    • Thanks Colin! This time it was much easier to come up with a blurb, I suppose that a good thing 🙂
      I rushed mine so I could be done by WriteOnCon…I leaned I definitely wasn’t ready to be querying (LOL) but it was such a useful experience…some really great critique!

  5. I am off and on with Vampire Diaries too. I love how fast paced it is, there is always something wacky happening, and of course Pretty People. Sometimes it reminds me I’m glad my teen years are over 🙂

    • Haha, you know I was just thinking the same thing…like, are teenagers really like that, was I like that (not that I’m far off, I just turned 20 in Feb.)??? Definitely gets the questions swirling 😉

  6. Oh, WriteOnCon! Gosh, that IS almost here. Now, I feel plowed over.
    Those fries sound good. I’m curious how you made them 🙂
    Prep School Confidential looks really good – going to put it on my TBRL. So thanks! And keep trucking with that writing!

    • Haha, things have quite a way of sneaking up on you 😉
      I’ll be posting the recipe etc…soon so check back. Thanks you & good luck with your writing!

  7. I’m very excited about writeoncon too! Networking with other writers is definitely a highlight!

    And good luck with the upcoming year! Sounds like it will be a busy one. I got to that place too – I wanted to just be done with school, and then when I was done, I didn’t want to be done. Anyway, I hope you have a great year!

    And good luck with your writing goals this week! 1500 words is AWESOME.

    • I never realized how much I’d value networking opportunities until the conference.
      I’ve heard that before so I’m guessing I’m going to feel the same, I’ve just gotta enjoy the ride 🙂
      Thank you & good luck with your writing goals as well!

  8. Patrice! I missed last week too, but I should be doing my Inner Peace post next week if all goes well. 🙂
    I’ve heard a lot of good things about PSC, so I didn’t even realize it’s not even officially out yet! I’ll have to look for it.
    Your blurb sounds amazing. Concise and to the point, with a clear conflict and kick-ass heroine. Wow. Such a good idea to come up with something that works like this while drafting. Best of luck as you keep at it!

    • Oh sweet! I’m looking forward to reading it 🙂 I got so busy that WUW just sneaked away from me.
      That’s another reason why I started reading my copy, I’d totally forgotten I had it and din’t even realize it wasn’t out because it seemed like one day everyone on twitter was talking about it.
      And Thanks, I’m glad to hear everyone likes the blurb (sometimes they’re a pain in the neck). Good luck with your writing goals 🙂

  9. Your book sounds AWESOME! And congrats on reaching your goals (one lapse is little :P) 😀 And yum, baked sweet potato fries 😀
    I think I need to check out Prep School Confidential! Have a wonderful week Patrice 😀

Share Your Thoughts :)

