Getting to Know You: #LV13

Hello, hello, hello!

virgin_widget

This has been such a wonderful & productive morning (in bed, haha) no but really, I’m still in bed.  Lots of things have been brewing on the Twittersphere, things are  brewing over at “Operation Diversity, so yeah good morning indeed.

Quick note beforehand, if you have a finished, completed, polished manuscript…you can go pitch to agents & editors via Twitter using #PitchMAS!!!

Now…I present to you my Getting to Know You post for the Like a Virgin pitch contest!!  Drumroll please…

1. How do you remember your first kiss?

Truth or Dare.  I picked Dare…yeah, it was good, he was hot…I think that’s all you need to know 😉

2. What was your first favorite love song?

Love songs??? Me…um, uh, *crickets chirping* I’m not sure if these are really love songs but I am in love with the soundtracks of Romeo + Juliet, Moulin Rouge & Great Gatsby aka Baz Luhrmann…I guess that means I’m kinda a tragic love person? IDK, the tracks are great though.  I love how he takes classic songs and completely revamps them, he & Jay-Z worked wonders for Gatsby.  I listen to these songs on loop 24/7.

What’s the first thing you do when you begin writing for the day?

Most times I just write.  Occasionally I’ll read a couple pages  I wrote the previous day just to get back in the mood but putting my butt in the chair usually does the job.  Oh but before I begin, I close/lock my room door, especially when I’m in my college dorm, turn off music & open the windows (so I know life exists) as a way of creating my own private place to do my thing uninterrupted.

Who’s the first writer who truly inspired you to become a writer?

Maybe no writer, maybe all.  On one hand it was my dad, he blogs, he’s inspirational and something about his telling me to just go for my dreams & him not being afraid or listening to his fears (that’s what’s important) has drove me to “Just Do It”.  On the other hand it was myself, my need to reclaim myself for me instead of always trying to please others…11th grade through my first year in college was a mess, but without those years I wouldn’t be where I am now.  And also probably every book I read as a child/teen that I wasn’t satisfied with the ending, especially vampire books before Twilight & Blue Bloods, I couldn’t stand how none of those ever had the girl turn into a vampire/be a vamp, it was so frustrating to have the girl be the weak one…even Twilight & Blue Bloods didn’t completely fulfill that desire, my own writing did as did Anne Rice 🙂  Oh and Margaret Atwood, JK Rowling, JRR Tolkien, George RR Martin & Octavia Butler…they’re bosses.

Did the final revision of your first book have the same first chapter it started with?

Haha, nope.  However, I will say that that first chapter was probably the 2nd best version of the chapter (the best being the one I have now)…the ones I came up will during all the other revisions were horrible.

For your first book, which came first: major characters, plot or setting?

The story.  The story & the characters to me are always the most important.  Not the plot…the plot can change, the story is the essence that without it, everything is futile.  And along with that, the first words.

What’s the first word you want to roll off the tip of someone’s tongue when they think of your writing?

Oh no she didn’t…haha not really, although that would be interesting to hear.  No words I suppose.  I want people to connect so deeply with my story my character that the only way they are able to express themselves when thinking about my writing is by their emotions.  After the emotional phase I’d be happy with well-written.  I know that seems odd & not to sound cocky but I know the stories I come up with sound great, great hooks, amazing adventures, so forth but the writing, the flow, that’s something I’m always trying to improve.  In fact, sometimes I know an entire story but because I can’t figure out the first words I’m stumped.  It just has to sound, be written so that it gives me shivers…that I know I THIS is it.

What about you guys?  I’d love to hear your answers to some of these 🙂

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

23 thoughts on “Getting to Know You: #LV13

  1. Truth or Dare? That’s great! It must have been a pretty good game. Whenever my friends and I play, it turns out lame because they whine about their dare.

    Also, I write in a similar environment. My closet, actually. (Don’t worry, it’s an old walk-in.) I tired writing in my dorm once, but my homebody roommate, while trying to be interested in my writing, kept talking and talking. I did not attempt again.

    • Haha yeah, it was a pretty good game, haven’t played since though…sometimes I feel like such an ex-“wild child” lol.

      That sounds like a really cool place to write. College dorms really aren’t the best place to get things done. I try not to get annoyed with people because I know they don’t know they’re being annoying with their questions but they are.

      • Haha, ex-“wild child” moments are the more amusing memories lol. Also, reminds me of the movie. Acting meh, but entertaining nevertheless.

        And yeah the closet works well, have a desk and wheel chair mixed with the clothes. Before that, I was at a loss and had to constantly remind myself she was just being supportive. 🙂

      • Haha true! I remember that movie, loved it just not the acting.

        & yeah sometimes I wonder whether it would better to have people constantly asking or not at all…when I think of it like that supportive isn’t too bad. (Still can be annoying though lol)

  2. Octavia Butler’s WILDSEED is one of my all time favorite novels. In fact, I cried when I heard she’d died–and I’m definitely not a weeping kind of woman.

    Good luck in the contest.

  3. Baz Luhrmann! He does have the best soundtracks. I was obsessed with the Romeo and Juliet soundtrack in high school, so good. in fact, I think I may go dig out the old CD and listen to it.

Share Your Thoughts :)

