What’s Up Wednesday

Good Afternoon, Readers!  I hope you’re week is going well so far 🙂  As a part of Ready. Set. Write. and because I’m falling in love with these posts, here’s  my second What’s Up Wednesday!

What I’m Reading

all our yesterdaysI’m still reading Gameboard of the Gods but I’ve also started reading All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill.  I know, I wasn’t supposed to since I have other books to review beforehand, yada, yada, yada but the beginning pulled me in so now it’s providing a great back to YA!

What I’m Writing

My WIP — that I’m going to finish rewriting/revising/editing as a part of Ready. Set. Write. — BLOOD OF ISIS, a YA Contemporary Fantasy. The first draft ended at about 47,000 words with 58,000 in the latest. I suspect this draft will be longer as I know it’s going to include more things.

How’s the process going?

The working blurb is below but so far I’ve been focusing on rewriting it and editing it to prepare it to go to my beta readers (to look at overall story flow).  I took a break from writing last night and reread most of it, making tiny edits as I went along.  I really like it now, like really like it.  Yes, it needs work but I can clearly see where I need to go with it.  I still have the entire second half to revise but the good thing is that that’s the easier part since I don’t actually have to rewrite it (like I did most of the first part)!  Right now my goal is about 60,000 words.  I really don’t see this being much longer than that because, like I said, the story is pretty solid and well-fleshed out now.  So far I’m almost at the 30,000 mark (which was a huge increase from the about 13,000 words I was at when I started Ready. Set. Write)!!

I (or Dr. P. C. Howard, Preternatural Expert) also restarted my blog series, The Incomplete Guide to Preternatural Creatures… I hear it’s quite useful 🙂  

Blurb:

Getting killed isn’t likely for the first day of a pre-college summer program. But that’s exactly what almost happens to seventeen-year-old Aziza Harper when she receives a mysterious jewel, from an old woman in Cairo, and is attacked by a classmate who sprouts a lion’s head and turns into the ruthless Egyptian Goddess Sekhmet.

To make matters worse, her grandma disappears and Aziza is dragged from the trashed apartment by teenagers claiming to be descendants of Egyptian deities. They are the Peacekeepers, members of the Order of Ma’at — an ancient society charged with keeping the balance between the mortal world and the world of the gods. To her dismay, Aziza is the one they’ve been waiting for, the heir of Isis, the one to whom the Blood of Isis, an ancient jewel holding Isis’ blood — with the power to give and take away life — will appear. The descendant fated to defeat the power-hungry god Seth thus restoring peace to the cosmos by ending a centuries old war between the agents of chaos and those of the light.

Now Aziza her newfound companions have until her eighteen birthday — four days away — to find the Eye of Horus and Eye of Ra. Two amulets that when combined with Isis’ blood will have the power to lock away Seth’s body and soul, forever. But to succeed, defeating Seth is not all Aziza must do; she must learn to trust in herself and her companions to find the real source of the chaos, the one who try to destroy them all.

Also don’t forget to read the newly updated first chapter!

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I’m going to the Franklin Park Zoo today!!!  I’m going to scope it out for a possible student trip for orientation so I’m looking forward to that (post to come).  I also started watching Season 2 of Borgia, the Tom Fontana version. (it’s on Netflix!!!)  It’ so good but I’m also a bit confused so I’m thinking I might need to watch a couple final episodes of the first season.  I’m also debating as to whether I should give True Blood another chance and start again (I think I stopped a season or two ago…read the books, eventually stopped those too).

I’m still/always reading a lot, I have tons of books to read & review, and I need to get caught up on Game of Thrones, I’m on season 3, Episode 3 or 4 (…at least I’m on the most recent season).

And I’ve really started getting into TEDx talks in addition to my growing addiction to the VlogBrothers.

What Inspires Me Right Now

whimsicallyoursMy blog’s 1 year anniversary is coming up on the 25th.  You can read a bit of the story of how I came to start this blog on the ‘About Whimsically Yours’ Page.  I love this blog.  A lot of what I do now, am, etc…I owe to this blog.  I’ve started many blogs before this one but they usually never last past 2 weeks.  My secret for this one, I just started it.  No expectations really, I just wanted a place to call my own, to be heard, to meet others, to explore and be myself.  Thankfully I’ve found all that and more and my lovely little blog now has almost 680 followers 🙂

I’ve just been so inspired by the blog and myself, I’ve really created a home for myself here and it has given me the strength and encouragement to go forward with my dreams and know that, although it might take a while and a lot of blood, sweat & tears (many tears), I can get to where I want to be!

Also this post on my blog, based on my recent favorite TED talk on What You Wrote as a Child…(the post contains my reflections as well as the video to author/illustrator Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s talk)  I highly suggest reading it, it was so powerful for me!

What have you been up to lately?

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

12 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Congratulations on your blogversary! The blurb is really interesting, and it’s great to hear that the revisions are running so well for you. 60,000 is perfect for a book – those 100,000s get heavy at times 😉

    • Thank you! I’m so glad to have received such good feedback on the blurb, it was quite the struggle (and I still don’t think it sounds exactly right). I’m with you about those 100,000 word books, as a reader I get bored with YA that’s that long so I can’t write it that long. 🙂

  2. I stopped watching True Blood after the first season–great casting, but it wasn’t quite my thing. I preferred the books but even those got kind of weird and repetitive toward the end. BUT, I have to read the final Sookie book. I’ve read the whole series, I have to finish!

    Congrats on sticking with your blog! It’s tough to maintain motivation and content sometimes.

    • Haha, yeah you probably stopped at the right time. The third season went so off, it almost killed me. I suppose I’ll need to give the books, at least, another chance then.

      Thank you, sticking with it was one of my best decisions!!!

  3. Congrats on the imminent blogoversary! Mine is approaching soon too. 🙂 Also, I am DYING to read Cristin’s book! I can’t wait until September!

    Good luck with your writing goals this week!

    • Thank you 🙂 And happy early blogoversary to you!!! It’s good, quite the interesting opening scene (a bit heart-wrenching). I’ll be posting a review and most likely giving away my copy on late August. Good luck with your writing goals too 🙂

  4. Congrats on almost reaching your one-year blogoversary! That’s awesome. 🙂 Sounds like you had a great week writing too, which is fantastic. It’s awesome to go back and read what you’ve written and to be pleasantly surprised at how much you like it. Makes it all feel worth it, doesn’t it? Good luck with your writing this week, Patrice! 😀

    • Thanks Jamie! My writing week was amazing, now I’ve got to push myself to keep going. I want to be done with it by Monday 🙂 Good luck with your writing as well!!!

  5. I love the blurb! It’s easy to follow which usually means a) it’s a good blurb b) the book has a solid plot.

    I say I’m working on a WIP but Ihaven’t written a word since Friday and this one is kicking my butt.

    • Thanks Beth! Glad to hear that, I think I want to edit the blurb more but it’s so good to know it’s easy to follow 🙂 You’ll have to be sure to tell me how the WIP goes, you can do it (also sometimes the butt kicking means it’s a real good one)!!!!

Share Your Thoughts :)

