What Did You Write When You Were a Kid?

hand writing

For me, writing stories has always served a purpose.  When I was little, I was quite obsessed with vampires, and I always hated how the guys would be vampires but the girls were these whiny people who, for some reason, never got to become vampires themselves, even though they wanted to.  So I started writing stories (unfortunately, I’ve lost many/all of them) about girls who were vampires or became vampires.  I never finished any of them though, because I discovered the Blue Bloods series by Melissa de la Cruz and the Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer.  Those books, and the ones that followed, kept me satisfied for quite some time because thankfully writers stopped only depending on the guys to save the day and let us, girl, do something.

Then last summer, after a rough first-year in college where I felt I’d lost part of myself, I rediscovered writing as a way to heal.  I wrote my first manuscript in less than two months, and I told myself I was done messing around…time to get published.  Well, I quickly found out if I wanted my book to be good, to be great, I would have to put in a lot more work.  So writing evolved from a distraction to only thing I really want to do.

Now writing is love, pure joy, and happiness but it all started when I was a kid with my angry letters to my parents and much labored over but quickly forgotten stories of girl vampires.

On Sunday, via GalleyCat, I found this wonderful TED talk by author/illustrator Jarrett J. Krosoczka.  Halfway through watching it, I cried.  When we’re so anxious to be published, to have our work out in the world we can forget about why we started writing, why we write, in the first place.  I love writing, it really is that simple.  My characters, the worlds I create, make me whole.  Writing has never just been an assignment for me.  I wholeheartedly recommend this video, if not to reflect on the things you loved/wanted to do as a child, then simply to have a good laugh.

What did you write, want to do as a child?

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

3 thoughts on “What Did You Write When You Were a Kid?

  1. I WROTE VAMPIRE STORIES TOO! When I was younger it was the Vampire Diaries that I loves (that was in the 90’s) but then I graduated to the Anne Rice vampire novels. I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND what you are saying! I wrote my own vampire novel too!!! and I have the layouts for one in the future 😀 Thank you for your post! Happy writing!

    • LOL. I never got into Vampire Diaries however I loved Anne Rice’s vampire novels! I think that’s the way to go, writing what you want to read. Best wishes to you with your writing, and thank you (for the thanks & the reblog)!!!

Share Your Thoughts :)

