PODs by Michelle Pickett

Hello Readers 🙂 It’s finally here…my day for the blog tour of PODs!!!  As such I’d like to present you with my review of this amazing book!

podsby Michelle Pickett

Book Blurb

Seventeen-year-old Eva is a chosen one. Chosen to live, while others meet a swift and painful death from an incurable virus so lethal, a person is dead within days of symptoms emerging. In the POD system, a series of underground habitats built by the government, she waits with the other chosen for the deadly virus to claim those above. Separated from family and friends, it’s in the PODs she meets David. And while true love might not conquer all, it’s a balm for the broken soul.

After a year, scientists believe the population has died, and without living hosts, so has the virus. That’s the theory, anyway. But when the PODs are opened, survivors find the surface holds a vicious secret. The virus mutated, infecting those left top-side and creating… monsters.

Eva and David hide from the infected in the abandoned PODs. Together they try to build a life–a new beginning. But the infected follow and are relentless in their attacks. Leaving Eva and David to fight for survival, and pray for a cure.

My Review

Owl rating

PODs is one of those unique books that can take you to a dark and sad place you might not want to go.  I mean that in the most “well-wishing” ways because PODs truly pulled at my heartstrings.  As someone who has four younger siblings the idea of getting chosen to live and having to leave my entire family behind is one of those things you just don’t speak of because it’s too hard to think about.  And although I’ve never had to follow a path like the one Eva did, I do attend college miles away from home so the feeling of leaving my family behind is definitely one I’ve experience before.  It’s for that reason that even if PODs contained meh writing, I still would’ve liked it…thanks Michelle Pickett knows exactly how to capture every moment.  Everything was so vivid there were times I felt myself in Eva’s shoes and had to put the book down to breath because I was overcome with tears.

I read this book in about 3-4 hours.  Which, with all the romance, tension, horror, and sadness in the book, was quite the emotional ride…one minute I was in tears and the next I was falling in love, it was absolutely crazy!

However there was one part of the book I didn’t like, in fact it just seemed a little to convenient to me.  I mean I know it needed to happen in order to push a long the second half of the storyline but, ugh, once you read it you’ll see.  I just don’t believe the government would’ve done that, it made no logical sense at all.  That being said, I got over it…the book is truly amazingly well-written, characters well developed and like I said, some of the scenes just seem so real.

So kudos to the author, Michelle Pickett and the Spencer Hill Press Team…SHP is really doing it big, I’ve yet to be disappointed by one of the books I’ve received from them 🙂

**This is a 100% honest review, the ARC was received from the publisher**

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

3 thoughts on “PODs by Michelle Pickett

    • Hi Michelle!

      Thanks for stopping by, I know authors are quite busy as well. I appreciate your kind words & I’ll definitely be posting it on amazon once I return to the world of wifi! Blogging does take lots of time and planning but I do it because I love it 🙂

      Can’t wait to read The Infected!

      -Patrice

Share Your Thoughts :)

