A Caution to Writers…

(like seriously…who made them the expert???)

I recently read this post by my father on his blog  titled “Is Thinking Dead?  It’s a really good post and in it is his signature, taking of a word we know and breaking it down.  In the post he talks about FEAR or what he calls False Evidence Appearing Real, Dream Killers, and TV or Terminates Vision (it really does, it will distract you from your writing so limit it or destroy it).

Now you might be asking how this relates to writing, well instead of giving my father’s response of, “you’re not THINKING”, I’ll explain (and let you do the further thinking on your own).

You see, what my father talks about in that post is so perfect for writers.  As writers it’s important we learn to ignore naysayers.  We must read what we want to read, ignore the BS in the words of others, and be willing to be our own person (even if that alienates others).  As Stephen King stated in his memoir & writing  advice book, On Writing (which I highly recommend), “if you expect to succeed as a writer, rudeness should be the second-to-least of your concerns. The least of all should be polite society and what it expects. If you intend to write as truthfully as you can, your days as a member of polite society are numbered, anyway.”

We writers are a weird bunch, I mean seriously, we talk about killing people, the end of the world, magic, mythological creatures, and such as if these are ordinary things (well…for us they are).  For the most part, the only people I can talk to about all the “crazy” things I talk about to myself (and/or the room) are my younger siblings (and possibly my dad) because they are children and honestly don’t give a damn who thinks they’re crazy/they’re expected & allowed to act that way.

Harsh as it may be, people are lazy, and they don’t really think for themselves.  Writers not only do but we must.  We must think for ourselves, we must not be afraid to do so or at the very least, as Tris Prior from Divergent/The Divergent trilogy once said, “I ignore my fear. When I make decisions, I pretend it doesn’t exist.” (145)  

A lot of times, I hear people tell me stories about their dreams, and after they tell me those dreams I’m like “okay, let’s go.  If we do, this, this and this, you’ll be on your way there.”  And you know what I get in response ..not just a blank stare but pure fright.  See, I guess they were expecting me to be like “oh, man, I’m sorry, yada, yada, yada.” You see to them, somewhere at sometime they convinced themselves that their dreams were impossible to accomplish but, starting your own cooking show, especially with YouTube, or opening your own school (tons of grants for that & ways to do it) are really very plausible and simple to do.  But to spin what my dad always says, “People don’t want to follow the simple way.  What’s simple isn’t always easy, and that’s scary to some…so scary that often it prevents them from even trying.”

So to all my writers out there or to any creative types (or anyone really), I know I’ve said this a thousand times (and I’ll say it a thousand more), follow your dreams.  For me, I want to be a published, New York Times, Bestselling Author.  I know I can do, the answer is very simple, write a book, write a damn good, book, edit, revise, edit, revise, rewrite, repeat, and so forth until the book deal comes.  However it’s not easy, I’m at the rewriting stage now, and it’s killing me.  Why because I’m afraid I’m going to fail, again.  But this time, that’s okay because (taking the advice of Samuel Beckett) I’m going to fail better.  I’m going to keep “failing better” until I get where I need and want.

Remember: Believing is seeing not the other way around… if you want it, you’d better believe it first.

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

4 thoughts on “A Caution to Writers…

    • Thanks Emma, I appreciate your kind words. I hope you’re doing well with writing & life! Yeah, my dad’s a blogger too, it’s kinda funny…sometimes he asks me to edit his posts before he posts them & it’s so interesting to see how similar we are yet how very different we are especially in regard to stylistic choices.

Share Your Thoughts :)

