Speechless by Hannah Harrington

Speechless

by Hannah Harrington

Book Blurb

Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she’s ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there’s strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she’s done. If only she can forgive herself.

My Review

Owl rating

“Hate is… It’s too easy. Love. Love takes courage.” 

This is one of those books that needs to be read by all teens, by all people actually.  In fact, even though there are quite a lot of bits (thematic wise) that resemble one of my favorite books, Speak by Laurie hale Anderson (5++ owls, must read), I loved it so much I’m still giving it 5 owls!!

Not to give much away, because that kind of messes with the plot/your sense of wonder at what happened but this book was really special to me.  On one hand, I realized how ridiculous high school can be, I mean seriously being “Queen B”, popular, knowing all the secrets really isn’t that important in life.  It really isn’t.  I always wonder what girls/people like that think of their younger selves when they’re older, I know I would feel stupid.  I mean, I already do feel stupid for the silly bit of gossip my gossipy/cliquey friend group participated in.  Gosh, I love college (haha, haven’t said that in a while).

Chelsea Knot, the main character is someone everyone, even those of us who were “ubernerds” in high school, can relate to.  She represents the struggle I know at least I felt during high school and even now in college, to remain true to your own moral upbringing yet “stay cool”.  And what she does, even if she helped cause the initial consequences, is truly an act of bravery…if more people spoke out about injustices, everywhere this world would be such a better place (or at least it would be a start in that direction).

If anything, this book taught me, someone who often uses a lot of spoken words yet is better at the written word, that sometimes it’s best not to speak.  And that courage comes in all forms, that speaking out isn’t as easy as it seems, and that love and acceptance really do make a difference (even if it’s only a small one).

I highly recommend this book, it’s cute, it’s cathartic…it’ll make you cry, laugh, question the good in humanity and realize the beauty within it and yourself all at the same time.  And although the protagonists are high school age students, there’s no reason why people of all ages shouldn’t pick this book up.  It handles some tough/’hot” issues of today, and in my opinion, addressing these issues is the only way we can mend our broken society.  I think politicians and laws try but I also think they’re part of the problem, books on the other hand, books especially genre fiction, are often very good at teaching lessons that need to be taught without preaching them.

**I received this book to read and review from the publisher, HarperCollins (I had the UK version…same thing), via NetGalley, this is a 100% honest review.**

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

Share Your Thoughts :)

