Teen Fury: Unleashed

16161535

Book Blurb

Adopted at birth, fifteen year old Felicia Murphy has no idea she’s the offspring of a Fury and a god of Mercy. The discovery will soon shatter her world…

Felicia’s reputation as stable and trustworthy means everything if she’s to win the grant for the troubled kids she mentors. Snakes emerging from her head, massive mood swings, and a strong thirst for vengeance do not fit into her plans. She has no time to worry about her adoptive parent’s separation and the unwanted discovery that her biological parents are supernatural freaks. She can’t confide in her friends; who would believe her?

As her life spins out of control, she allows herself to be distracted by the two new guys who are suddenly showering her with attention, pulling her in different directions.

Felicia has choices to make. Embrace the Fury and risk everything, or find a way to tame the beast. Mwahahahaha… (sorry, I felt like an evil laugh went perfectly).

My Review

Owl rating:

When Amanda asked me to review her book; I immediately said less.  We had connected over Twitter, and Teen Fury: Unleashed was her debut novel.  I love helping out my writer friends as well as debut authors but wasn’t what drew me to accepting her review request.  What caught my attention was that this was a very unique combination: In my mind I imagined Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde + The Hulk + The Offspring of a Fury and the god of Mercy…now that’s a combination my mythology, nerdfighter self has never heard of.

Not to mention the main character, Felicia is very likeable so that plus the overdone yet still amusing combination of bad boy + good boy who are vying for the girl’s attention made Teen Fury: Unleashed quite a fun and quick read.

The book, although losing my at some points in the middle, was very well written with very realistic and believable (especially in the case of Felicia) main characters.  I also liked Amanda’s spin on mythology.  Mythology retellings are becoming so huge now and even though there are plenty of myths to go around many writers seem to hinge on the typical Greek ones (I know, I know, it’s because they’re familiar and so on) so I really appreciate how Amanda stepped up to the challenge and wrote something different (definitely look for a guest post from her on this topic, I plan on begging her to do one!).

I would gladly  review the upcoming books in the series, and I think Teen Fury: Unleashed is a book that any teen (or adult) would love to (and should) read 🙂

**This is a 100% honest review, I received the book from the author to read & review.**

Interview with Teen Fury: Unleashed’s author, Amanda Torrey

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

Share Your Thoughts :)

