Endings and Beginnings

start - finishToday is the end, well almost nearly the end, of the first semester of my Sophomore year in college.  And, it feels great!  Why?  Because I know every ending is really just a new beginning sad thing is it can often take a whole semester to learn/remember that.

But honestly, aside from all the downs it has been a great semester for in this one semester I have increased my blog following to almost 500 followers from probably around 100 (if not less) as well as completed and started querying one manuscript and started several others.

However, as you may or may not know, I’ve been having quite the writer’s block lately but with a little help, I’ve figured out the source.

You see when you have a book that you pour your all into, the one you think is THE one.  And you face rejection in relation with that book, it effects you, even if you don’t think it does.  And well I, while I had no problem starting new projects, I couldn’t/haven’t been able to finish them because, even though I didn’t realize it, I kept comparing them to the feeling I felt when I was writing BLOOD OF ISIS.  And well, to be honest, that same feeling wasn’t there.

And now, well, let’s just say I have a new project, one that I love just as much, if not/probably more than BLOOD OF ISIS.  But this time, I’m ready, I know it’s going to be a long road but I also know that this one is the one I’m meant to write, plus I’m getting help from my genius (see the previous link) so that I’m not in this alone.  

For now, I’m calling it Whimsically Yours, a semi-autobiographical story, it’s different from what I usually write…just what I need, and well that’s about all I’m sharing for now.  It’s funny because as hard as I tried during NaNoWriMo to write about 1,700 words a day, I couldn’t.  Now I write about 1,500 words a day without even thinking about it.  I just started it but by then end of this week i should be at/near the 15,000 word mark so how about, if I get there I will post a working blurb of ze project!

As for the other things in my life, well, they are clearing up for as my father once said to me, “Tomorrow is a new day and the sun will rise, the real question is whether or not you will rise with it?”  So I urge you to give yourself one final push to end the year strong but don’t worry about pushing yourself too much because sometimes what we really need is a break.  And remember, regardless of how this year, month, week, day ends…tomorrow will be a new day and a new beginning 🙂

How has your year been, what goals do you have for the end of the year???

robinsonquote copy

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

10 thoughts on “Endings and Beginnings

  1. Good luck with your newest writing project. Yes, it does get easier to put down words, and have them make a certain sense. My year-end goals? Get at least three or four more chapters done on my sequel!

  2. I had this same problem. It took me about six months to keep writing again. I kept starting projects but the quality wasn’t there b/c my mental state had been effected.

Share Your Thoughts :)

