Writer’s Block?

writers block

Writer’s Block aka The Enemy.  Does it truly exist, and if so how do we defeat it?

Currently I think I’m having a writer’s block of sorts, or maybe a creativity block would be a better term.  It’s as if writing, editing, revising and eventually completing my first manuscript has drained the life out of me.  I can’t write.  I ‘m having the hardest time coming up with new story ideas as well as finishing my WIPs (work-in-progress).

Any advice? What do you do to come up with new story ideas and/or to motivate yourself to finish WIPs?

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

P.S. Speaking of draining…did you know vampires exist???

^if you ever need a laugh this should do the trick 🙂

P.P.S. Check back tomorrow for The Weekly Fashionista: Holiday Edition

–Patrice

6 thoughts on “Writer’s Block?

  1. What Lexa said is true. You have to love your characters and their story because you’ll be with them for a while. When I’m having trouble with a new story or editing an old one, I take a walk and just enjoy nature. Sometimes a solution will come to me while I enjoy the trees and clouds and butterflies. Sometimes not. But it’s refreshing to get away from the computer and look at “real” life.
    Best of luck to you.

    • Thanks for stopping by Beverly!

      Yeah I’m in love with the characters in my first completed manuscript, in fact I never stop thinking about them/their story.

      I think being a part of “real” life always helps, we writers often can get too engrossed in our work.

      Thanks for the great advice, and best of luck to you as well 🙂

  2. I didn’t used to believe in writer’s block; I never had trouble coming up with exciting ideas in the beginning. But not all ideas are created equal. Agents/pubbers want a “knock my socks off” idea, something surprising, gripping and original. That’s not so easy to come up with. I finished my 3rd novel in Sept and haven’t written a thing since. I needed a break, and I couldn’t come up with a sure-fire marketable premise. (And–dang!–writing’s just too hard to attempt a novel unless you’re sure it’s marketable.)

    After 3 months of rest, I think I have an idea about what I want to write next, but I’m still in no hurry, and I don’t think you need to be either. Writing a novel is like getting married — you’ll be with that thing a long time, so you better make sure you’re really in love before you commit yourself. Good luck! 😀

    • This is the most beautiful advice I’ve ever received…love the metaphor!

      I haven’t been able to write something since I finished BLOOD OF ISIS in September…I feel like I could easily write the sequel but I’ve been trying to write something new.

      You’re right though, patience is essential…thanks so much and best writing wishes to you too!

      I’m sure once we actually get back to writing it will be amazing!!!

Share Your Thoughts :)

