The Weekly Fashionista: Twenties Speakeasy meets Urban Grunge

Randomness…I know that’s what you’re thinking.  First of all what is “twenties speakeasy” and “urban grunge” and when/why/how are they meeting each other???  Haha I know I’m a mind reader 😉

The Definitions

Twenties Speakeasy

  • Speakeasy – an establishment that illegally sells alcoholic beverages.  They came about during the Prohibition (sale, manufacturing, etc…of alcohol illegal) in the United States (1920-1933)
  •  Think Great Gatsby-esque

Urban Grunge

  • According to Fashion Blog Life Grunge fashion originates from the 80s & its combination of punk style clothing and practical outdoor wear.  
  • It’s typically anti-establishment: think holes in clothing, worn fabrics, spikes, and vinyl
  • the Urban in front of the grunge is just emphasizing it’s “city” appeal/focus
  • Kurt Cobain-esque + a haute couture(ish) twist

When/Why/How???

So my college’s fashion organization, à la mode, is hosting its annual fashion show (eXposé) early this year, December 8th, 2012, and I’m one of the student fashion designers.  Now I know, that too might seem random, but I actually used to want to go to fashion design school.  In fact I almost applied to several fashion design schools including FIDM, FIT, Parson’s, etc…Of course I don’t know if I would have gained admission but regardless it’s still sometime that interests me.

When I got the email via my college’s posting community, I was like why not, and I signed up without even considering the fact that I haven’t actually sketched something in years.  I’ve dabbled in a few things when I was considering apply but my “hayday” was when I was 9-14 years old (LOL).

But the theme is Twenties Speakeasy and I love fashion, and I love doing random creative things so I’m doing it.  We don’t have to design to the theme but I thought it would be fun however the inner fashion designer in me feels I just cannot simply do twenties speakeasy so I’m adding in some grunge.

Why grunge???  Well the 1920s while typically thought of as a time when tons of wealth/industry… was around, etc… (hence term “Roaring Twenties”) but in actuality people were still suffering, people wanted to reach the American Dream etc.. (very Gatsby-esque).   So to highlight all of that I’m combining the establishment (typical flashy twenties fashion that only the upper crust was able to afford) with Urban Grunge (THE fashion of the ANTI-establishment…not really but for my purposes, yes)!

Where will it take me…I have no idea, I have all the ideas in my head for example I want to make a typical flapper dress out of vinyl and pair it with some black spiked boots and a blue jean jacket…or maybe the dress will be made out black lace/idk 🙂

(maybe something similar to this)

What are cool things you’re planning on doing or things you’ve always wanted to do yet never have?  How can you find a way to accomplish those things?

Whimsically Yours,

PnC 

P.S. I’ll keep you posted on my fashion designing adventures 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Weekly Fashionista: Twenties Speakeasy meets Urban Grunge

  1. Oooh, this is really cool! You’ve just given me some clothing ideas for a story I had in mind. I love the urban grunge. I look forward to reading more on your designing adventures! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts :)

