Advice to Fellow Writers

Reblog of post from my writer’s site…some advice to fellow writers as a result of an email I received.

Patrice Caldwell

Yesterday I received an email from fellow writer Andrea Black, I replied to her email but I’d like to share it with you because I think it’s a question a lot of people might have:

Basically Andrea asked me “how do you get started, and how do you find a focus?”

First I would like to say I’m honored that you think I have such a focus and have a knack for writing, I often feel I have no idea what I’m doing.

Second:  My answer to Andrea as well as to other struggling/lost/confused (what have you) writers is to just write what you want.  A lot of time people say pick a focus but honestly how can you “pick a focus” before you know where your talent lies.

I write what I love, I write what the reader in me (who I like to think has amazing taste) loves.  My…

View original post 282 more words

One thought on “Advice to Fellow Writers

  1. Reblogged this on Andrea R. Black and commented:
    I’ve been following Patrice Caldwell’s blog for some months now. She has a great grasp and focus on what type of writer she wants to be. It is inspiring to watch her success unfold. I, on the other hand, have some problem embracing what type of writer I am. I read lots of books on writing with the following advice, “write what you know” or “focus on a particular type of writing” or “focus on a niche” the advice goes on for years. I love dabbling in everything. Now I’m not saying I’m good at all types of writing or, but I like to at least try, and in the process it’s been kind of fun to figure out where my strengths and where my weaknesses lie.
    Anyway, this was a great post in response to my questions. Check it out. It may help you too 😉
    A. Black-Writer

Share Your Thoughts :)

