Interview with YA Author Emma Meade

Meet Emma!

Hi Patrice. Thanks for having me here today. My name is Emma Meade. I live in Cork, Ireland and I spend a big chunk of my waking hours reading and writing paranormal fiction.  Oh, and drinking lots and lots of tea.

What is your favorite place to write?

The couch. All I need really is my laptop and someplace quiet to sit.

What is the first story you remember writing?

I think it was about an alien abduction in primary school. No doubt I must have been watching The X-Files.

If you could be any character from a book, movie, play, or musical who would it be and why?

I’d love to be Buffy, for a week or so.  Having a taste of what it’s like to be a slayer and getting to be a part of the Scoobies and hanging out in the library at Sunnydale High with Giles and the rest of the gang would  be so cool.

When & why did you start writing?

I’ve been writing short stories since primary school. I’ve no idea why I started. I suppose I’ve always had an active imagination and putting stories down on paper helped me release a bit of steam and creativity.

How do you overcome “writer’s block” ? 

Read a book, watch a film, go for a walk, or if I’m really in the mood to push through, I will just keep writing, even if I feel the words I’m putting down aren’t very good. Sometimes you can break through by sticking with it.

Are you a full time writer?

I wish I was a full time writer. Until that huge publishing deal and a fabulous advance comes through, I’ll continue to juggle writing with a full time job.

Coffee or tea?

Tea. I drink at least three cups of Barry’s tea a day, more when I’m writing. It’s an Irish brand.

If you could have breakfast with anyone dead or alive, who would it be and what would you eat?

Probably River Phoenix. Growing up, Stand by Me was one of my favourite films.  I think he had such potential to be a wonderful actor and died way too soon. I’ve watched him in interviews and he comes across as warm, intelligent and down to earth. He was a musician too, which makes him all the more attractive. The character, Noah Phoenix in Under the Desert Moon is my little tribute to River.  I’d eat an Irish fry with him.

What is the next book you want to write?

I’m working on an adult, vampire tale called Night Whispers. It’s the follow up to Night Sighs, a short story collection I published in November 2011.

Last words???

Thanks for having me here today, Patrice. I enjoyed answering these questions and I hope people will check out what Erin is up to in Under the Desert Moon.

Thanks for letting me interview you, I’m a huge Buffy fan myself 🙂  Best of luck with your writing!

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

One thought on “Interview with YA Author Emma Meade

Share Your Thoughts :)

