Young Adult Takeover (BOOKTOBERFEST! Week 3)

To celebrate the third week of BOOKTOBERFEST!, I give you Young Adult Takeover.  A week where I honor Young Adult books, their place in the industry and how far they have come.

A Little Background to Get Us Started

If you know anything about the publishing industry then you know that young adult books are making waves.  What was once a simple shelf in your local Barnes & Noble is now an overcrowded section with sub-categories galore, nearly equally matching that of the Adult section.

And Young Adult novels aren’t only for teens.  In a recent report by Bowker Market Research, 55% of buyers of books designated for children aged 12 to 17 are actually age 18 or older. Buyers between the ages of 30 and 44 account for the largest percentage of young adult sales, and 78% are buying the books for themselves.  I suppose we can thank Stephanie Meyer and Suzanne Collins for that 😉

The point being Young Adult books are helping the publishing industry, and YA along with the current digital revolution is making it the perfect time to be an author.  So let’s all raise a glass, of OJ, to Young Adult novels…thank ye very much!

How This Is Going to Work

Tomorrow I will open YA Takeover with an announcement of a book giveaway of…drumroll, please…none other than the YA bestseller The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer.  I have one Hardback copy and although I will not be reviewing it I shall link you to its Goodreads page for reviews and a blurb (it’s a pretty awesome book).

Tuesday (aka Time Travel Tuesday)  I will be taking it back in time, with a review of two of my favorite YA books, books that were/are bestsellers, one of which is to be made into a movie: Uglies & Blue Bloods.

Friday

Mythology in the YA Novel Post Series

Announcement of a giveaway of The Evolution of Mara Dyer (ARC – Paperback), the soon to be released sequel of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer.

Saturday

So stay tuned 🙂  And writers don’t forget to enter your completed manuscript in some October Pitch Contests!

On Another Note..

My “completed manuscript” BLOOD OF ISIS, is undergoing some much needed structural revisions, thanks to an epiphany I had…yay!

My WIP (CONFESSIONS OF A PRE-TEEN WITCH) is going through an outline phase.   I’m much more of a pantser but with this book I’ve found myself getting stuck a lot more…hence: never underestimate the importance of a well thought out plot outline.  AHH…wipmadness!

 

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

2 thoughts on “Young Adult Takeover (BOOKTOBERFEST! Week 3)

Share Your Thoughts :)

