writing reflections

I really like this post because writing is such a huge process, and I think it’s always great to know where you began and note your improvements and what you still need to work on.

When I was in eight grade I thought I was the best writer in the world, until my teacher handed me back a paper with a C on it. I don’t make Cs, or at least I didn’t, I was horrified. She had written all over my paper basically saying: Great ideas, great story, horrible grammar. So I pushed it aside and said whatever until I got another bad grade. Then I realized that grammar is something I really need to work on; it’s something I struggled with then and still do now.

As a writer you have to understand the rules of grammar, that way you can break them. As me anything about figurative language, descriptions, etc…I’ve got you (I’m actually a beast with figurative language), but as to commas, I can edit your paper. I understand grammar well when it comes to the work of others but as for my own, I seem to still have a problem with commas and such. However I am working on it, especially since I’m actually a writer now, one who is editing her manuscript now and will be looking for an agent soon. I cannot have bad grammar be the thing that keeps me from achieving my goals.

So what am I going to do about it? I’m going to start doing exercises out of my eighth grade grammar book (yes, I still have it) because I want to give myself and my stories the best fighting chance they can get.

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

FREEDOMSTYLEZ

 

As I am apprehensive to write about a fear. With writing I am afraid of making mistakes, and not wording my thoughts correctly.  If that is a growth in terms of skill, fear of writing destructively is one of the things I have learned to be afraid of in this course.  The ability to influence others is a very hard thing to do, but when a person writes from their heart, I believe a positive reaction is the usual result as long as writing from the heart remains critical in thinking, if there is such a thing as thinking with your heart.  I hope that I have learned what my 8th grade grammer teacher was trying to teach me many years ago when she failed me. I believe she was trying to teach me about the importance of the english language.  Although I was 12 years old at the time…

View original post 389 more words

Share Your Thoughts :)

