Teenagers Have Wisdom Too…

**Part Two – Teens Can Write Too…coming October 21-27, 2012 as a part of BOOKTOBERFEST!**

Years ago I bet that no one could have imagined that “How to understand your teen” advice books would be a million dollar genre. 

It is just so funny that people actually pay others to help them know how to understand us.  My parents NEVER needed a guidebook on how to raise or understand me.  As my dad once said to me “you’re not that deep”, none of us are.

I have never understood why people would rather gossip about something or someone to others, or buy an advice book, or consult a consultant when there is someone who does or is that thing you are trying to understand in the same room.

Take this meme for instance:

There are various versions of this meme, with the “What I really do” section changed to sleeping or Facebook.

But it is extremely accurate: To share a little bit about myself, I went completely through high school without having a boyfriend, drinking, or doing drugs.  When I tell people this they are usually surprised because “I’m so social” as if that really has anything to do with it.   The truth is the reason why I did not do or have any of those things is because, I, like most teenagers was smart enough to know that I had better things to spend my time doing.

Most of us aren’t “promiscuous”, in fact if most of us had sex, it was only with one person.  Most of us don’t do drugs and drink, in fact if you asked most of us to list common (illegal) drugs we would only be able to name cocaine and marijuana.

My point: we aren’t all what you see on TV.  Just because we  mention that we want to lose weight or says that we are not hungry, doesn’t mean we have an eating disorder.  And just because we pick up our phones doesn’t mean we are on Facebook.

True fact: most of the time when people assume that I am texting my friends or on Facebook…I’m actually texting my mother (she texts people 24/7).

Of course, if we are on Facebook or Twitter so what…it’s just one more way I communicate & connect with people, it’s not that end of the world.

I have met teenagers who do it all, who are better at managing money than their parents are, who know what they want to do in their life more than most adults do, and who are wiser than people with a PhD.

Just because you are a teenager doesn’t mean that your words are meaningless, no matter what anyone tells you, you must NEVER forget that.  And to those adults out there: I will always respect my elders but I will NEVER  let anyone crush my dreams.  I know that it is hard, and I know that you want the best for us but we can do this.

The next time your teenager tells you that they want to be an artist, or a writer, or an actor tell them that you will support them no matter what, give them advice, but do not put your doubts on our shoulders.  

If there is any grand wisdom, any key to understanding teenagers, it is that all we really want is to be supported.  

I know that you might not “get” me all of the time but do try to remember that once you were like me.  

You had you dreams, hopefully you haven’t let those go, and you had your quirks…trust me those are definitely still there, but most of all you just wanted the world to listen to you and to know that you existed.

This weekend, in honor of teenagers, I will be reblogging 10 posts from teens that I feel show: 

Who we are, what we want, and how wise we can truly be.  

If there are any blogs you know of, written by a teenager, that fit this description please let me know 🙂

Whimsically Yours,

PnC

3 thoughts on “Teenagers Have Wisdom Too…

  1. Pingback: Some People Make Me Sick « Whimsically Yours

Share Your Thoughts :)

